loader image

At Lucerne University for Applied Sciences and Arts

Lecturer for Economics

In my teaching, it is important to me to present different theories and perspectives, in order to enable the students to develop their own point of view.

I specialize in comparing standard economics with alternative theories.

My functions at the university

I have been teaching at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences since 2012 and am currently giving the following lectures and seminars:

 

Teaching economics differently

Introduction to economics - heterodox perspectives
In the introductory course for master’s students, we confront the perspective of standard economics (neoclassical theory) with alternative traditions of thought.
Economic sociology
To ensure that this introduction does not remain too dry for non-specialist students, the second part of the module takes place in Eastern Europe, where the students conduct a short empirical research.
Underground Economics
In this cross-faculty seminar, we ask how we can actively shape our economy and discuss alternative economic models.
All About Economy Film Days
Film is a suitable medium for economics education. In the dialogue with Eastern European lecturers and students, we discuss documentaries and feature films on the topics of economics and business. Three editions take place per year, alternately in Gdansk, Bucharest, Kiev and Sofia. Project website: economy-filmdays.info

 

Business success abroad

Eastern Europe - our unknown neighbors
Three times a year, I organize educational tours to Eastern European countries and examine the opportunities and challenges of the local economy. Project website: summer-school-eastern-europa.info
Methods and indicators for evaluating business locations
The objective of the course is to acquire a critical attitude towards economic indicators – this helps to avoid drawing wrong conclusions and take erroneous entrepreneurial decisions.
Global Enterprise & Commercial Offences
I will conduct this new module on the cultural and legal challenges that internationalizing Swiss companies have to face in less developed countries: insecure property rights and contractual rights make it necessary to develop alternative business strategies.

 

Past lectures 

Where I learned the craft of didactics
  • 2013-2019    Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts – Social Work: Introduction to Economics
  • 2015-2019    Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts – Social Work: Labor Society, Labor Market and Unemployment
  • 2011-2014    Fernfachhochschule Schweiz: Personnel Management and Knowledge Management
  • 2011-2012    Berne University of Applied Sciences: Introduction to Accountancy (in French language)
  • 2009-2011    Business School Lenzburg: Business, Economics, Commercial Law, Civic Education
  • 1992-1993    Gelterkinden Secondary School, Liestal High School: History, German, Foreign languages
Publications

My related publications 

  • Ways to reform business education
  • My research topic ‘dealing of Swiss companies with corruption abroad’
  • I comment on current political issues

Publication list by Michael Derrer

Current publications:

Academic interests
Plural economics
In contrast to the other social sciences, in economics, there are few alternative theories that are taught. Thanks to the pool of knowledge and concepts of “alternative” thinkers of the past and present, we broaden our horizons and the ability to think independently.
Market economy instead of capitalism
The search for an economic system that includes the advantages of a market economy but avoids the negative aspects of real-existing capitalism can be found in different traditions of thought. I find the following particularly productive:

  • Ordoliberalism and Distributism. The aim is to spread property more equally and ensure a level-playing field for SMEs.
  • Taxation of “unearned” (effortless) income instead of taxes on work and entrepreneurial success, e.g. through a land tax according to Henry George, an inheritance tax on large assets or a microfinance tax
  • Monetary reform approaches from Silvio Gesell to Joseph Huber and Positive Money
Economic sociology and institutional economics
The use of a social science methodology allows to observe how the economy actually works. Values, traditions and ideas play a much larger role than standard economics suggests. This is also of practical relevance: Swiss companies can only be successful abroad with an understanding of the specific values and norms of the respective society and the use of targeted intercultural communication.
Corruption analysis
Outside of the Western world, Swiss SMEs are inevitably confronted with phenomena of corruption. How do they deal with this situation, which is unusual for them – also in view of the Swiss criminal law, which makes corruption abroad a criminal offense? My research project studies systemic corruption in Russia and Ukraine using economic sociological analysis.
Valuation of goods that are difficult to value
Today, value is created primarily through knowledge. But knowledge is nowhere to be found in the balance sheet. Is it possible to assign an objective value to this knowledge? For the Federal Parliament, I designed and carried out the study “Compensation and Infrastructure for Members of Parliament”, in which the work of parliamentarians was assessed, in order to create the basis for their adequate compensation.
Constructivist education in economics
Constructivism deals with the way, in which people theorize facts and form models, and how these models in turn influence people’s behavior. For teaching, this means enabling students to deal with models, to question them and also to create their own models. However, economics education still consists primarily of the passive adoption of models that are assumed to represent a supposedly objective reality. In order to implement my approach, I am working on the textbook “Wirtschaft im Widerspruch” (Conflicting views on the economy), in which different perspectives on the economy are confronted – with an open outcome.
Study background
BA Political Sciences, University of Lausanne

The study program consisted of courses in political science, sociology, contemporary history and economics. The main focus of my studies was on

  • History of economic and sociological theory (Karl Polanyj, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Pierre Bourdieu)
  • Discourse analysis (early socialism; real socialism; nationalist discourse; ethnic discourse; liberalism)
  • Foreign economic policy and international financial organizations
  • Political parties between interests, ideology and organizational dynamics

The many research papers to write during this study program led me towards independent research, interdisciplinarity and a scientific, unbiased attitude.

Master of Advanced Studies in Public Policy Management and Analysis, University of Geneva

The focus of this second degree at the Faculty of Economics was on the role of the state in the economy and in the application of modern management methods to public administration. I wrote my thesis on the role of the state in promoting lifelong learning.

Teaching diploma in economics and law, University of Applied Sciences Northwestern Switzerland

Theoretical and practical didactic training, with a pedagogical foundation, supplemented by additional specialist studies in private law and applied accounting. I wrote my independent work about the “constructivism” approach in business education.

Studies abroad

I studied in Bucharest in 1992, and in 1996 I was the first western student at MGIMO (Moscow State Institute for International Relations), the training center for the Soviet and today the Russian diplomats.

loader image

An der Hochschule Luzern

Dozent für Wirtschaft

Im Unterricht ist es mir wichtig, unterschiedlicher Theorien und Sichtweisen vorzustellen und den Studierenden zu ermöglichen, ihren eigenen Standpunkt selbst zu bestimmen.

Ich spezialisiere mich auf den Vergleich der Standard-Ökonomie mit alternativen Theorien.

Meine Veranstaltungen an der Hochschule

Ich unterrichte seit 2012 an der Hochschule Luzern und halte derzeit folgende Vorlesungen und Seminare:

 

Wirtschaft anders unterrichten

Einführung in die Volkswirtschaft - heterodoxe Perspektiven
In der Eintrittsveranstaltung für Master-Studierende konfrontieren wir die Sichtweise der Standard-Ökonomie (Neoklassik) mit alternativen Denktraditionen.
Wirtschaftssoziologie
Damit diese Einführung für fachfremde Studenten nicht zu trocken bleibt, findet der zweite Modulteil in Osteuropa statt, wo es eine kleine empirische Recherche zu führen gilt.
Underground Economics
In der fakultätsübergreifenden Veranstaltung stellen wir die Frage, wie wir unsere Wirtschaft aktiv gestalten können, und diskutieren alternative Wirtschaftsentwürfe.
All About Economy Filmtage
Das Medium Film ist für die Vermittlung von Wirtschaftswissen sehr geeignet. Im Austausch mit osteuropäischen Dozenten und Studenten diskutieren wir Dokumentar- und Spielfilme zum Thema Wirtschaft. Jährlich finden drei Austragungen statt, abwechslungsweise in Danzig, Bukarest, Kiev und Sofia. Projektwebsite: economy-filmdays.info

 

Geschäftserfolg im Ausland

Osteuropa – unsere unbekannten Nachbarn
Dreimal im Jahr organisiere ich Bildungsreisen in osteuropäische Länder und beleuchte die Chancen und Herausforderungen  der lokalen Wirtschaft. Projektwebsite: summer-school-eastern-europa.info
Methoden und Kennzahlen zur Evaluation von Wirtschaftsstandorten
Zweck des Kurses ist eine kritische Einstellung gegenüber Kennzahlen zu erlangen – damit lassen sich Fehlschlüsse und falsche unternehmerische Entscheide vermeiden.
Global Enterprise & Commercial Offences
Ich werde Leiter des neuen Moduls über die kulturellen und rechtlichen Herausforderungen, mit denen internationalisierende Schweizer Unternehmen in weniger entwickelten Ländern rechnen müssen: Unsichere Eigentums- und Vertragsrechte machen andere Geschäftsstrategien notwendig.

 

Veranstaltungen der Vergangenheit

Wo ich das didaktische Handwerk erlernt habe
  • 2013-2019      Hochschule Luzern – Soziale Arbeit: Einführung in die Volkswirtschaft
  • 2015-2019      Hochschule Luzern – Soziale Arbeit: Arbeitsgesellschaft, Arbeitsmarkt und Erwerbslosigkeit
  • 2011-2014      Fernfachhochschule Schweiz: Personalmanagement und Wissensmanagement
  • 2011-2012      Université spécialisé de Berne, Bienne: Introduction à la comptabilité
  • 2009-2011      Business School Lenzburg und Alte Kanti Aarau: BWL, VWL, Recht, Staatskunde
  • 1992-1993      Sekundarschule Gelterkinden, Gymnasium Liestal: Geschichte, Deutsch, Fremdsprachen  
Publikationen

Meine Publikationen betreffen 

  • Wege zur Reform des Wirtschaftsunterrichts
  • Mein Forschungsthema: Umgang von Schweizer Unternehmen mit Korruption im Ausland
  • Entwicklungen in der Wirtschaft osteuropäischer Länder
  • Dazu äussere ich mich zu aktuellen politischen Themen

Publikationsliste von Michael Derrer

Aktuelle Publikationen: 

Akademische Interessen
Plurale Ökonomik
Im Gegensatz zu anderen Sozialwissenschaften werden in der Ökonomie kaum alternative Gesichtspunkte gelehrt. Dank dem Fundus an Erkenntnissen und Konzepten „alternativer“ Denker der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart erweitern wir unseren Horizont und vergrössern den Spielraum, um unabhängig zu denken.
Marktwirtschaft statt Kapitalismus
Die Suche nach Ansätzen für ein Wirtschaftssystem, das die Vorteile einer Marktwirtschaft beinhaltet, aber die negativen Aspekte des real existierenden Kapitalismus vermeidet, findet sich in unterschiedlichen Denktraditionen. Besonders ergiebig erscheinen mir

  • Ordoliberalismus und Distributismus. Angstrebt wird eine breitere Streuung des Eigentums und gleichlange Spiesse im Wettbewerb für KMU.
  • Besteuerung leistungslos erworbener Einkommen anstelle von Steuern auf Arbeit und unternehmerischem Erfolg, z.B. durch eine Bodenabgabe gemäss Henry George, eine Erbschaftssteuer auf Grossvermögen oder eine Mikrofinanzsteuer
  • Geldreformansätze von Silvio Gesell bis Joseph Huber
Wirtschaftssoziologie und Institutionenökonomie
Die Anwendung sozialwissenschaftlicher Methodik  erlaubt zu beobachten, wie die Wirtschaft tatsächlich funktioniert. Werte, Traditionen und Vorstellungen spielen dabei eine weit grössere Rolle als es die Standard-Ökonomie vermuten lässt. Das ist auch von praktischer Relevanz: Nur mit dem Verständnis der spezifischen Werte und Normen einer Gesellschaft und zielgerichteter interkultureller Kommunikation können Schweizer Unternehmen im Ausland erfolgreich sein.
Analyse der Korruption
Schweizer KMU werden ausserhalb der westeuropäisch geprägten Welt zwangsläufig mit Erscheinungsformen von Korruption konfrontiert. Wie gehen sie mit diesem für sie ungewohnten Sachverhalt um – auch angesichts der Schweizer Strafrechtsnorm, die Korruption im Ausland unter Strafe stellt? Mein Forschungsprojekt ist die wirtschaftssoziologische Analyse von Phänomenen systemischer Korruption in Russland und der Ukraine.
Bewertung schwierig zu bewertender Güter
Wertschöpfung erfolgt heute vor allem durch Wissen. Dieses findet sich aber nirgends in der Bilanz. Kann man diesem Wissen einen objektivierbaren Wert beimessen? Für das Eidgenössische Parlament habe ich das Gutachten “Entschädigung und Infrastruktur der Parlamentsmitglieder” konzipiert und durchgeführt, mit der Frage, wie sich die Arbeit der Parlamentarier bewerten lässt, um die Grundlage für eine angemessene Entschädigung zu schaffen.
Konstruktivistischer Wirtschaftsunterricht
Der Konstruktivismus befasst sich mit der Art, wie Menschen Sachverhalte theorisieren und daraus Modelle bilden, und wie diese Modelle wiederum das Verhalten der Menschen beeinflussen. Für den Unterricht bedeutet dies zu lernen, mit Modellen umzugehen, diese zu hinterfragen und auch eigene Modelle zu bilden. Noch immer besteht Wirtschaftsunterricht jedoch in erster Linie in der passiven Übernahme von  Modellen, welche eine vermeintlich objektive Realität abbilden sollen. Zur Umsetzung meines Ansatzes arbeite ich am Lehrbuch „Wirschaft im Widerspruch“, in dem konfliktierende Sichtweisen auf die uns umgebende Wirtschaft einander gegenübergestellt werden – mit offenem Ausgang.
Studienhintergrund
Licence ès sciences politiques, Université de Lausanne

Das Studienprogramm bestand aus Veranstaltungen in Politologie, Soziologie, Zeitgenössischer Geschichte und Volkswirtschaft. Selbst gewählte Studienschwerpunkte waren:

  • Theoriegeschichte der Ökonomie und Soziologie (Karl Polanyj, Michel Foucault, Jürgen Habermas, Pierre Bourdieu)
  • Diskursanalyse (Frühsozialismus; Realsozialismus; Rechtsnationaler Diskurs; Ethnischer Diskurs; Liberalismus)
  • Aussenwirtschaftspolitik und Internationale Finanzorganisationen
  • Parteien zwischen Interessenvertretung, Ideologie und Eigendynamik

Die vielen selbständigen Arbeiten im Rahmen dieses Studiums führten mich zur eigenständigen Recherche, zur Interdisziplinarität und einer wissenschaftlichen, unvoreingenommenen Grundhaltung.

Master of Advanced Studies in Public Policy Management and Analysis, Université de Genève

Der Schwerpunkt des Zweitstudiums an der Wirtschaftsfakultät lag in der Rolle des Staates in der Wirtschaft und in der Anwendung moderner Managementmethoden auf die öffentliche Verwaltung. Meine Diplomarbeit schrieb ich über die Rolle des Staates in der Förderung des lebenslangen Lernens.

Lehrdiplom für Wirtschaft und Recht, Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz

Theoretische und praktische didaktische Ausbildung, mit pädagogischen Fundament, ergänzt durch zusätzliche Fachstudien in Privatrecht und angewandtem Rechnungswesen. Meine selbständige Arbeit schrieb ich über den „Konstruktivismus“ im Wirtschaftsunterricht.

Studien im Ausland

Ich studierte 1992 in Bukarest und war 1996 der erste westliche Student am MGIMO (Moskauer Staatliches Institut für Internationale Beziehungen), der Ausbildungsstätte der Sowjetischen und heute der Russischen Diplomaten.